Taking the project one step further

Some of you will have read my post yesterday about my new pet project, now code named “Ethestra”, a combination of Ethernet and Orchestra. What!! All the good names were taken!!

I put the system on in the background whilst I worked for an entire morning, and I have to say, I felt very relaxed. It was kind of an ambient/zen type feeling. Very soothing.

So I got to thinking how to take the project further. Is there anywhere we can take this? Of course. As I sit at my keyboard, I have just spent the last 2 hours, and now have a fully functional tracker type midi sequencer in python. It has no GUI of course. A simple drum rhythm is defined as a pattern variable, like so.


([
(0, 0x48, 0x60, 4),
(2, 0x48, 0x60, 4),
(8, 0x48, 0x60, 4),

(16, 0x4B, 0x60, 4),

(0, 0x4E, 0x60, 4),
(8, 0x4E, 0x60, 4),
(16, 0x4E, 0x60, 4),
(24, 0x4E, 0x60, 4),
(32, 0x4E, 0x60, 4),
(40, 0x4E, 0x60, 4),
(48, 0x4E, 0x60, 4),
(56, 0x4E, 0x60, 4),
])

Ok, so it’s not pretty, but the ultimate goal of the project is for the network data itself to create the patterns. That being said, it can create at least something musical. A sample of the sequencer alone is here (this is not network music yet).

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

