A fresh new start

OK, so with GeekDeck, I was trying to achieve something big, I was trying to break all the rules, do something completely different. Only problem was a) it had all been done before and b) I was trying to make it too big too soon, with too few resources. I am eternally grateful to each of the contributors for the time and effort that they put into GeekDeck. Now it’s time for something a little different.

I’ve not blogged properly for a long time and I must say it’s been itching away at me for many an hour of many a day. I love blogging. I love sharing things with communities. I loved my time in the ubuntu community and being aggregated on planet ubuntu gave me a platform on which I could share my ideas and feelings with a large audience.

GeekDeck was my attempt to take this one further, but I made the mistake of biting off far more than I could chew. My friends and contributors did the best they could in providing me with material, but I neglected to take into account their work loads and consequently ended up writing many more articles than I would have liked. I say would have liked, but that’s not quite accurate. I enjoy writing, but I was being pushed to write 7-8 well researched 1,500 – 2,000 word articles a month. It was hard work.

It was only recently that I took a peek at the statistics on GeekDeck, and realised that actually we still have a fair old number of people visiting the site. To that end, I decided to move the focus of GeekDeck. Any of the contributors are free to blog here about things that interest them in the technical/geek world.

So enjoy as we take GeekDeck on a whole new journey 🙂

Pete

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

